Researching the Family History

To my five readers, I apologize for taking so long to update. I always underestimate the adjustment that comes with a transition even in the best of circumstances. A lot has happened in the month that I’ve been working including what I would consider a fateful encounter.

My institution recently hosted a reception for an event and while I was there, I got a chance to talk to an older lady (who told me I looked 15…I’m 27, but that’s another story). Long before I ever thought about becoming an archivist, I appreciated conversations with people from older generations. So much perspective, so much wisdom. Anyway, she charged me to research my own family history.

It’s something I’ve been wanting to do for a while, so why not start now? I started writing out all the names of all my ancestors that I knew of–parents, grandparents, great-grandparents, what have you. There is so much I don’t know. On my father’s side, I can’t even tell you the names of my great-grandparents. That’s insane and something I’m looking to change.

I formulated a rough plan of action to start my research. As I mentioned before, I wrote down all the names I knew. Second step was to call my family members to get some more names and locations from them before continuing. The third step will be locating institutions and resources that will have genealogical records.

To be honest, I’m not sure what my endgame will be here. I could just research this for myself, or I can make into something bigger to give to family members, such as a book.

As an African American I know I have more resources available to me than previous black genealogical researchers, but there still could be some challenges. That said I hope I don’t hit any major road blocks.

Meanwhile, I’ll be blogging about research as I go. Feel free to leave comments and any advice!

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

